Digital Technology Development Award (Modeling Climate Sensitive Infectious Diseases)


Deadline: 31-mar-22

Wellcome Trust is inviting applications for the Digital Technology Development Awards (Climate-Sensitive Infectious Disease Modelling) to provide funding to software developers of all career stages and disciplines to develop digital tools that will improve modeling climate-sensitive infectious diseases.

At the end of the award, successful applicants will have delivered open-source digital technology that will increase the impact of research to combat this health threat.

Price Information
  • A Wellcome Digital Technology Development Award provides up to a maximum of £500,000 to cover research expenses, including salaries if required.
  • The scholarship is usually for 5 years but can be shorter at the candidate’s discretion.
eligible countries

Where your host organization is based: Anywhere in the world (excluding mainland China).

Eligibility criteria
  • You can apply individually or as a team.
  • You or your team must have:
    • training or work experience in any field of science and health related to infectious diseases and/or the impacts of climate change on human health and
    • an idea for new digital technology to improve modeling at the intersection of these two fields.
  • You do not need to have an information technology (IT) background to apply. When the term “software developer” is used, it includes anyone who has experience building software-based tools and technologies.
  • You will need to demonstrate your knowledge and experience of developing open source software.
  • You must be based in an eligible host organization anywhere in the world (excluding mainland China).
  • It can be a:
    • higher education establishment
    • research Institute
    • non-academic health organization
    • non-profit organisation.
  • You must choose an environment that offers you the appropriate training, resources and experience to carry out your project and develop your own skills and identity.

For more information, visit


Comments are closed.